Visit the Unique Counties of the Heart of Texas!

The Heart of Texas Economic Development District (HOTEDD) consists of Bosque, Falls, Freestone, Hill, Limestone and McLennan counties. Located in central Texas between Dallas and Austin, the U.S. Census reported the estimated 2019 population to be 372,588, compared to 349,273 in 2010, an increase of nearly 7%. The region covers 5,549 square miles and has a population density of 62.94 residents per square mile, compared to a statewide density of 93.54. Each county has specific areas of focus, with McLennan offering the primary commercial and industrial centers, while the other countries have a much more rural atmosphere.

County Largest City (population) County Seat
Bosque Clifton (3,453) Meridian (1,503)
Falls Marlin (5,638) Marlin
Freestone Teague (3,527) Fairfield (2,917)
Hill Hillsboro (8,472) Hillsboro
Limestone Mexia (7,344) Groesbeck (4,253)
McLennan Waco (129,179) Waco

Click on the counties below for profile information on each.