

Judge Linda Grant
President

Councilmember Jim Holmes Vice-President

# Heart of Texas Council of Governments

Judge Jay Elliott Secretary/Treasurer

Russell Devorsky
Executive Director

Emergency Preparedness Advisory Committee Meeting 9:30 AM, Wednesday, March 2, 2022 Heart of Texas Workforce – 1416 S. New Road, Waco, Texas

### I. Welcome and Introductions

Meeting called to order by Chair, Tom Hemrick, at 9:33AM.

A. Guest recognition –

Cermaene Mathis, Waco - McLennan County Public Health

Heather Wheeler, ESC Region 12

Angela Smith, City of Clifton

Cybil Humphries, City of Clifton

City of Clifton, Richard Spitzer

David Manness, Waco Fire Department

Brent Weatherby, Waco Fire Department

Bryant Clark, Morgan VFD

Brian Moore, Morgan VFD

#### **B.** Member introductions

Phillip Cantrell
Nancy Cross
Michael Graham
Matt Groveton
Danny Guerra
Tom Hemrick
Nate Smith
Chris Cary
Michael Graham
Danny Guerra
Robert LaFoy
Elizabeth Thomas

Buffy Waldie

**HOTCOG Staff** 

Amy Derrick Harold Ferguson

Lana Gudgel Tim Jeske

## **II.** Determination of Quorum

Mr. Hemrick stated that a quorum was present.

#### III. Proof of Posting

Mr. Jeske stated that there was proof of posting.

## IV. Public Comment

There was no public comment?

#### V. Sub-Committee Reports

Tim gave a brief synopsis of the Communications Subcommittee

## VI. Chair's Report

Mr. Hemrick welcomed the members and guests and thanked them for being in attendance.

## VII. HOTCOG Staff Reports

A. 2022 SHSP Overview

Mr. Jeske made a brief introduction to the meeting and gave a quick presentation on how to participate in the scoring meeting. Mr. Jeske spoke about Federal prioritation, Conflict of Interest, Regional Priorities, Scoring Calculations, Funding Decisions, and the Regional Budget Allocation of \$355,000.00.

- **B.** Communications Project Update *Mr. Jeske advised that the VHF equipment that was ordered has been shipped from Switzerland on the 18<sup>th</sup>. Timing will be updated.*
- C. Cybersecurity Committee Discussion

  Mr. Jeske advised that a Cybersecurity Subcommittee will be formed for our region. This subcommittee will support smaller counties without an IT department. Mr. Hemrick emphasized the importance for this subcommittee, especially with the situation in Russia. Mrs. Cross asked how counties that do not have IT departments will be assisted? Mr. Hemrick advised that buy in from County Judges will be essential and that smaller agencies could possibly be assisted by larger agencies. The counties that do not currently have IT Departments are Bosque, Falls, and Freestone. Mr. Groveton stated that they have been working diligently on Cybersecurity, but that most counties are about 3 years behind.

## VIII. New Business - Consideration of and/or Action On

- **A.** Review, Discuss, and Approval of January 12, 2022 EPAC Meeting Minutes Nancy Cross made a motion to accept the January 12, 2022, EPAC Meeting Minutes as presented. Michael Graham seconded the motion. All approved and the motion passed.
- **B.** EPAC Chair Nominations and Election. Term is through October 31, 2023 *Mr. Groveton nominated Mr. Hemrick as the EPAC Chair. Nancy Cross seconded the motion. All approved and the motion passed.*
- C. EPAC Vice-Chair Nominations and Election. Term is through October 31, 2022. Mr. Hemrick nominated Ms. Thomas as the Vice – Chair. Mr. N. Smith seconded the motion. All approved and the motion passed.
- **D.** Presentation and scoring of 2022 SHSP grant applications.
  - 1. HOTCOG ENS Information Sharing 9:45 am Presenter – Tim Jeske
  - 2. AET Waco CBRNE Equipment 10:00 am Presenter – Brent Weatherby, Captain Manness
  - 3. Wastewater Sector Security 10:15 am Presenter – Angela Smith
  - 4. HOTCOG Regional Planning 10:45 am Presenter – Tim Jeske
  - 5. Morgan VFD Emergency Siren 11:00 am Presenter – Brian Moore, Bryant Clark
  - **6.** HOTCOG Regional Citizen Corps Program 11:15 am

Presenter – Amy Derrick
7. Limestone County P25 Fire-EMS Radio Project – 11:30 am
Presenter – Matt Groveton

COG staff left the room while the committee made decisions on the scoring. The EPAC recommendations of funding is as follows:

- (1) HOTCOG Regional Planning \$163,640.31
- (2) HOTCOG ENS \$68,800.00
- (3) AET Waco CBRNE Equipment \$19,950.00
- (4) HOTCOG Regional Citizen Corps Program \$23,941.00
- *(5) Limestone County \$60,918.69*
- *(6) City of Clifton \$17,750.00*
- (7) Morgan VFD NOT FUNDED

Mrs. Cross made a motion to accept the funding as presented and Mr. Guerra seconded the motion. Mr. Groveton voted to abstain and the other 10 approved. The motion passed.

## IX. Announcements or Future Business Items

Mr. Ferguson spoke to the Committee that the HOTCOG TEMAP application is available for citizens in our region. He encouraged the members to share the information to citizens in their committees.

## X. Next EPAC Meeting

Wednesday, May 11, 2022, at 9:30 AM at the HOTCOG

## XI. Adjournment

Meeting was adjorned by Ms. Thomas at 12:49PM. Mr. N. Smith seconded the motion and the meeting was adjourned.