Councilmember Jim Holmes President



Mayor Geary Smith Secretary/Treasurer

Judge Jay Elliott Vice-President Heart of Texas Council of Governments

Russell Devorsky Executive Director

Emergency Preparedness Advisory Committee Meeting 9:30 AM, Wednesday, February 15th, 2023 1514 S. New Road, Waco, Texas

I. <u>Welcome and Introductions</u>

Meeting called to order by Chair, Tom Hemrick, at 9:30 AM.

A. Guest recognition – Melissa Hamaker – CATRAC

Kelly Isham – CATRAC Jay Fonville – CATRAC Adam Stocking – CATRAC Chris Jackson – Hill County OEM Karen Pettit – HOTCOG 211 Rusty Meyers – TDEM

B. Member introductions

Rob Bergerson	Tom Hemrick
Phillip Cantrell	Robert LaFoy
Chris Cary	Michael Graham
Nancy Cross	Elizabeth Thomas
Trace Hendricks	Kirk Turner
Terry Townley	Buffy Waldie
Danny Guerra	Jeff Watkins
Heather Wheeler	

HOTCOG Staff Wayne Stovall Lana Gudgel Falen Bohannon

Harold Ferguson Dorothy Jackson

II. Determination of Quorum

Mr. Hemrick stated that a quorum was present.

III. Proof of Posting

Mr. Ferguson stated that there was proof of posting.

IV. Public Comment

No Public Comment

V. Sub-Committee Reports

No Reports

VI. Chair's Report

Mr. Hemrick gave a report on a recent meeting he attended in *Ft.* Worth with *TDEM* on interagency communications.

VII. HOTCOG Staff Report

Mr. Ferguson informed the committee of the recently completed radio infrastructure projects completed.

VIII. <u>New Business - Consideration of and/or Action On</u>

A. Review, Discuss, and Approval of July 13, 2022 - EPAC Meeting Minutes

Michael Graham Moved to approve minutes of July meeting as presented, seconded by Phillip Cantrell

B. EPAC Vice-Chair Nominations and Election. Term Expired October 31, 2022.

Michael Graham moved to nominate Elizabeth Thomas, seconded by Danny Guerra. No other nominees were presented and Elizabeth Thomas agreed to fill the vacancy.

- C. Presentation and scoring of 2024 SHSP grant applications.
 - *1. HOTCOG BMAP 9:45 am*
 - 2. Bosque County radio Infrastructure 10:00 am
 - 3. Hill County 800MHZ Trunking Radio System 10:15 am
 - 4. Falls county Courthouse Security System 10:30 am
 - 5. Hill County Countywide Radio Project 10:45 am
 - 6. McLennan County Bomb Squad 11:00 am
 - 7. HOTCOG Regional Citizen Corps Program 11:15 am
 - 8. AET Waco CBRNE Equipment 12:30 pm
 - 9. McLennan County Fire Protection 12:45 pm
 - 10. Freestone County Portable Radios 1:00 pm
 - 11. West Police Department Interoperability 1:15 pm
 - 12. HOTCOG ENS Program -1:30 pm

13. 3HOTCOG Regional Planning - 1:45 pm
14. Wortham Police Department Radio Project - 2:00 - pm

Projects were discussed, and scored by the committee, then ranked in order after tabulation of the scores. The committee then discussed the rankings and made funding recommendations. Nancy Cross moved to approve the rankings and funding recommendations as made, seconded by Chris Cary.

IX. Announcements or Future Business Items

No future items discussed

X. <u>Next EPAC Meeting</u>

Wednesday, March 8th, 2023, at 9:30 AM at the HOTCOG

XI. <u>Adjournment</u>