Judge Don Pool President

Councilmember Mike Thompson Vice-President



Judge Linda Grant Secretary/Treasurer

Russell Devorsky Executive Director

Criminal Justice Advisory Committee

Meeting Minutes

Heart of Texas Council of Governments 1514 S. New Road, Waco Texas Go To Meeting Thursday January 14, 2021 10:00 a.m.

- I. Call to Order Chairman Brian Swick called the meeting to order at 10:01 AM
- II. Welcome and Introductions
- **III.** Members present:

Scott Ferguson	Jay Sparkman	John Miller	Yesica Rodriguez
Tuck Saunders	Brian Swick	Nita Wuebker	Glen Shoemaker
Katie Cole	Joe Lopez	Scott Ferguson	

IV. COG staff:

Lana Gudgel Amy Derrick

- V. Visitors Present: None
- VI. Determination of Quorum

Yes quorum only 11 of the 15 members were present via Go To Meeting.

- VII. Proof of Posting Verified by HOTCOG Staff Member Lana Gudgel
- VIII. Approval of May 12, 2020 minutes and Nov. 11, 2020 minutes Motion to approve by Nita Wuebker second by Scott Ferguson – Pass
 - **IX.** No Public Comment

X. 2021 Committee Member Reappointment, Resignation of Regina Harris. HOTCOG staff member Lana Gudgel advised the committee that Regina Harris has submitted her resignation, member Jim Newkham has not attended any meetings since 2019 and has not responded to any communication from the board. Yesica Rodriguez with Waco Police Department has agreed to serve as a replacement for Regina Harris, a second member to replace Jim Newkham has not been found yet. A recommendation for Yesica has been submitted to Judge Felton, who has not yet responded. Sheriff Joe Lopez has been appointed by Judge Elliott and John Miller has been appointed by Judge Lewis. The resolution for new appointments will be presented to the Executive Committee on January 28, 2021.

Brian Swick would like to continue to serve as a board member, however, would be willing to step down as the Chair if someone else would like to take over as chair, no members volunteered to take over as Chair. Brian Swick will continue as Chair for another term. Staff member Lana Gudgel advised the board that there is a need to appoint a vice-chair. Scott Ferguson agreed to serve as Vice-Chair so long as Brain remained Chair. Brain Swick made the motion to appoint Scott Ferguson Vice-Chair, Nita Wuebker seconds the motion, motion passed. Scott Ferguson motion to accept the recommendations for new appointments to the board, Joe Lopez, John Miller, Yesica Rodriguez. Nita Wuebker seconds the motion, motion passed. Scott Ferguson, Jay Sparkman, Nita Wuebker, Glen Shoemaker, Katie Cole, Tuck Saunders, Milton Albright, Mark Norcross, Cathy Beckwith, Bill Madding, and Dick VanDyke. Nita Wuebker seconds the motion, motion passed. The resolution for reappointments will be presented to the Executive Committee on January 28, 2021

XI. Date of next meeting April 8, 2021 at 10:00

Discussion of possibility holding practice scoring meeting April 7, 2021 at 10:00 am. Members agreed a practice meeting should be done, however will not be an official CJAC board meeting.

XII. Adjournment 10:41 am